MUNICIPALITY OF LE MENIL
The village of 1,000 inhabitants, located in old glacial valley, has had a history in the textile industry from 1840 to 1989.
The name of its inhabitants: “Guédonnes” and “Guédons”, is a testament to this industrial history.Granite mining is part of this history as well.
Nowadays, the old quarry is used as a climbing wall on its south face, and as a place to relax and gaze at the landscapes on the north face. This place, called “the Beaudevé”, has sculptures made by a local artist on its two faces. Next to it, the chapel of Pity, dating back to the 19th century and renovated in 2012, has two modern stained glass windows. Both sites are accessible by a fitness trail with beautiful views, especially on the valley of Les Granges.
The church dates back to 1735, and the foundation stone was laid in 1734. An elegant staircase curved on each side of the porch is worth the detour. This building has interesting furniture, particularly a wooden Christ probably carved in the 18th century and a fragment of altarpiece from the 16th century. The stained glass window of the choir, dedicated to Saint Blaise, were made by the world-know master glassmaker LOIRE from Chartres.
Discover the orientation table and many beautiful views on the Moselle and Moselotte valleys (the tops of Cornimont / La Bresse) during a walk.
The maps of the village are downloadable here
All year long 2023
- THE CHAPELLE OF THE SALETTE
- THE CHAPELLE DE PITIÉ
- THE ORIENTATION TABLE ON THE TÊTE DES CHAMPS